

# 2017-2018 Commission Members

#### Advising + Planning + Evaluating + Leading



For almost 50 years the Springfield-Sangamon County Regional Planning Commission (SSCRPC) and its predecessor agencies have met the planning needs of both the City of Springfield and Sangamon County. Along with this

on-going responsibility, the SSCRPC's staff regularly works with many other public and semi-public agencies throughout the area to promote orderly growth and redevelopment, conducting numerous research studies and planning projects each year.

The Commission that oversees this work is made up of 17 members who include representatives from the Sangamon County Board, Springfield City Council, special units of government, and six appointed citizens from the city and county. By its establishing ordinance, the officers of the Commission must be elected from these citizen members.

## 2017-2018

### Commission Officers & Members of the Executive Policy Board

Ms. Valera Yazell, Chair, Springfield Citizen Member Mr. Larry Hamlin, Vice Chair, Sangamon County Citizen Member Mr. Joe Gooden, Secretary, Springfield Citizen Member Hon. Jim Langfelder, Mayor, City of Springfield (Bonnie Drew) Hon. Andy VanMeter, Chairman, Sangamon County Board (Mr. Brian McFadden)

Mr. Dick Ciotti, Chair, Sangamon County Water Reclamation District, Special Districts Representative

## (Mr. Gregg Humphrey) Mr. Eric Hansen, Commissioner At-Large, Sangamon County

Citizen Member

Other Members of the Commission Mr. Brian Brewer, Chair, Springfield Mass Transit District (Mr. Frank Squires) Mr. Frank Vala, Springfield Airport Authority Roard Chair

Mr. Frank Vala, Springfield Airport Authority Board Chair (Mr. Roger Blickensderfer)

Hon. Joe McMenamin, Alderman, City of Springfield Mr. Greg Kruger, Springfield Citizen Member

Hon. George Preckwinkle, Member, Sangamon County Board (Mr. Charlie Stratton)

Hon. Andrew Proctor, Alderman, City of Springfield Hon. Leslie Sgro, Chair, Springfield Park District (Mr. Elliot McKinley)

Mr. Kenneth Springs, Sangamon County Citizen Member Hon. Greg Stumpf, Member, Sangamon County Board (Mr. Jim Stone)

Hon. Jeff Vose, Sangamon County Superintendent of Schools (Ms. Shannon Fehrholz/Mr. Lyle Wind)

(Indicates member's official designated representative.)

The Commission's Executive Director is appointed by the Executive Policy Board of the Commission and confirmed by the Sangamon County Board.

The Executive Director also serves as the Plats Officer for Sangamon County, Springfield and some other municipalities. Divisions of land must be reviewed by the Plats Officer to ensure compliance with the State Plat Act and local zoning and subdivision regulations.

The Executive Director, or his designee, also serves as Floodplain Coordinator for Sangamon County.

200 South 9th Street Room 212 Springfield, Illinois 62701

Phone: 217.535.3110 Fax: 217.535.3111

sscrpc@co.sangamon.il.us